2019 SDIVSL State Quals B (LD/Policy)
Dates: 3/8/2019 - 3/9/2019

Separate registration pages are set up for Parli/PF Quals (Feb. 22 and 23) and IE Quals (March 1 and 2)

This tournament is open only to SDIVSL member schools. All teams must be paid members of CHSSA (paid no later than Feb. 8, 2018).

Parking: Student Parking Lot - 4200 Lowell St, La Mesa

Tab Location: Library

Judges' Room: Library

Awards: Performing Arts Center - Main Stage

Sign off meeting: Performing Arts Center - Black Box Theater

Qualifying Spots/Entry Limitations: Students who cannot attend the CHSSA State Tournament on May 3, 4 & 5 at CSU Long Beach in Long Beach, CA, are not eligible to compete at this tournament. Additionally, students who are not available to compete in all scheduled rounds of this tournament are not eligible to compete.

Our league will qualify five (5) LD debaters and Policy teams, nine (9) Congress members, and one (1) Presiding Officer. A school may enter up to ten (10) students/teams in each of the events. Additional entries count against the ten (10) floating entries each school is allotted for the three weekends of the qualifying tournaments. Floating entries can not be entered here and must be emailed to Michael Orfield at orfield.michael@gmail.com.

Each student may enter only one (1) event for this weekend. 

Be sure not to exceed any individual or school entry limits: No student may enter more than four (4) events total throughout the three weekends.

Entry/Drop Deadlines: Entries for the debate tournament must be posted to Joy of Tournaments (www.joyoftournaments.com) no later than 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, February 23, 2019. Entries in all events are final and payable at that time. Please email any debate drops prior to the tournament to mderksen@powayusd.com.

Judges: Each school is required to bring one judge for every four LD and Congress entries, and one judge for every two Policy entries. IMPORTANT: All judges are committed to remain one round PAST the elimination of their team's last competitor. 

Tournament Details:

The first five rounds will operate on a double-elimination format. Once a debater/team receives two losses during the first 5 rounds, they will be eliminated from the tournament. After any preliminary round, if eight or fewer debaters/teams remain, the next round will be a quarterfinal round. If after five rounds there are more than eight debaters/teams remaining, the top eight debaters/teams will advance to quarterfinals. A sixth preliminary round may be run if there are excessive ties after five rounds. The winners of each quarterfinals debate will advance to semifinals. The winners of the semifinals round will advance to finals.

ASAP following awards - Sign-Off Meeting (7:30 pm estimated start time): After the awards ceremony following this tournament, all coaches must sign off any students who have qualified for the State Tournament. All coaches need to attend this meeting even if you don’t have a student that is qualified outright. Each year, students who haven’t qualified outright shift up into a qualifying position because of other students’ shifting out of the event, since a student may only enter one individual event at the State Tournament. If the coach is not at the meeting to confirm a student’s attendance at the State Tournament, the students may be bypassed and excluded from State qualification.

Note: If you sign a “No” on a student, that student MAY NOT later be added into that event if some problem arises with his or her participation in another event, such as Team Debate or Duo. If a student does not qualify outright in any event you still may only sign yes in one event.

You must come to this meeting!

Copyright © 2002-2019 Brent Hinkle. All rights reserved.