2020 Westlake/Chaparral Star TFA Swing
Dates: 1/31/2020 - 2/1/2020


The Westlake and Chaparral Star Swing

TFA / NIETOC / Kentucky ToC Qualifying Tournaments

January 31st and February 1st, 2020


Dear Colleagues,

The Speech and Debate Teams of Westlake High School and Chaparral Star Academy invite you to our Swing Tournaments held at Westlake High School! Please join us on Friday, January 31, and Saturday, February 1, in beautiful Austin, Texas. We look forward to providing you with a unique, educational, and competitive atmosphere.

Some exciting aspects to our tournament include:

  • Both halves of the swing have NIETOC bids
  • Both halves of the swing have Kentucky ToC Speech bids
  • Individual Events (non-debate events) for both tournaments will be held on Saturday only
  • Pre-released Novice Extemp. topic areas for prelims, semifinals, and finals
  • Lip Sync Contest! One entry per school - will take place right before the awards ceremony
  • Novice LD, CX, PF, Extemp., Prose and Poetry
We are offering the following TFA Qualifying Events:

Policy Debate                                      Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Public-Forum Debate                          Congressional Debate

International Extemp*^                        United States Extemp*^

Original Oratory*^                              Humorous Interpretation*^

Dramatic Interpretation*^                   Duo Interpretation*^

Duet Acting*                                       Informative Speaking*^

Program Oral Interpretation*^

* - denotes NIETOC bid event

^ - denotes Kentucky ToC bid event

We will also offer the following non-qualifying events:

Varsity Prose                                       Varsity Poetry

Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate        Novice Public Forum Debate

Novice Extemp                                   Novice Prose

Novice Poetry                                     

All schools must use this website to enter participants. If you have any questions, please contact us.

We look forward to seeing you in September! 

Maddie Szoo                                                                       Miles Dintzner      
Tournament Director                                                          Tournament Director

Andrew Lee                                                                        Ammaar Siddiqui
Tournament Director                                                          
Tournament Director

Julia Craciun                                                                       Kimber Hageman
Tournament Director                                                          Tournament Director

Joseph Uhler                                                                       Frank Rivera                                   
WHS Coach
                                                                        CSA Coach
732.9280                                                                      512.680.1762

LesLeigh Golson                                                                 Suchinder Kalyan                                   
WHS Coach                                                                            CSA Coach
lgolson@eanesisd.net                                                          suchinderkalyan@chaparralstaracademy.com


Copyright © 2002-2020 Brent Hinkle. All rights reserved.