2017 University of North Texas Tournament
Dates: 10/27/2017 - 10/28/2017


Dear Friends:

The University of North Texas William DeMougeot Debate Forum and the Department of Communication Studies at UNT are pleased to invite you to attend the 9th Annual John S. Gossett Memorial High School Speech & Debate Tournament this October 27-28, 2017.

After hosting the tournament for several years, we began annually honoring Dr. Gossett in 2009. This year we will once again honor long-time UNT Director of Debate Dr. Mark DeLoach in the Policy Debate division.

This year's tournament returns to the campus of Denton Guyer HS at 7501 Teasley Ln. in Denton. For those arriving Friday, please know that traffic will be difficult from 4:10-4:40pm. All coaches and students arriving early must remain in the cafeteria until 4:10pm.

This year’s tournament will offer TFA qualification in the following events:  Cross-Examination Debate, Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Public Forum Debate, Congressional Debate, Duo Interp, Duet Acting, Domestic Extemporaneous Speaking, International Extemporaneous Speaking, Original Oratory, Humorous Interpretation, Dramatic Interpretation, Informative, and Program Oral Interpretation. We will also offer Novice LD, Novice CX, Prose, Poetry, and Impromptu Speaking.

We assure warm hospitality, quality awards, and efficient tabulation & scheduling.  Our tab room staff has decades of experience hosting tournaments. We also promise excellent judging. You will find that individual events will be judged by qualified performance undergraduates, graduate students, and faculty, and we traditionally assemble one of the most diverse and high quality debate judging pools in the area with experience judging TOC, TFA, and UIL events.

Should you have any questions regarding tournament logistics, please contact our tournament administrator, Jason Sykes. Thank you for joining us, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your experience more enjoyable.

Best Regards,


Dr. Brian Lain, Director of Debate
Louie Petit, Associate Director of Debate


Copyright © 2002-2017 Brent Hinkle. All rights reserved.