2017 7th Annual Capitol Congress Tournament
Dates: 11/30/2017
Invitation RegistrationLogin

7th Annual Capitol Congressional

Debate Contest

November 30, 2017

at the

Texas State Capitol Building 

The Yellow Rose District of the National Speech and Debate Association in conjunction with Representative Bryan Hughes office will be hosting the 7th Annual Capital Congressional Debate Contest on Nov. 30, 2017.


Who can enter – the contest will be open to any high school across the state. There will be a limit of 8 students per school with a total limit of 192 students.


Entry fee is $20.00 per student and should be paid on the day of or prior to the contest.  Checks should be made to Yellow Rose District.


Entry deadline will be 8:00 am on Oct 17, 2017  Or, when we reach the entry limit.  ENTER EARLY!


Chambers will be limited to 24 contestants. The morning chamber will have 3 hours of debate time allotted. All scoring will be done by two judges and a parliamentarian.


ADVANCING TO THE FINAL CHAMBERS: The top 3 students from each chamber will advance to the Super Chamber. 4th – 9th will be allowed to compete in TWO Consolation Chambers. The scoring will be based on the judges’ score with the parliamentarian rank breaking any ties. The final chamber will be conducted in the Capital Auditorium


Times – Registration will begin at 8:00 with the morning chambers starting at 8:30 and ending at 11:30. The final chamber will begin at 1:00 ending at 3:30. Awards will at 4:15.


Legislation - The Fall 2017 TFA Docket will be used.  Items 1-15 will be used for prelims.  Items 16-25 will be used for finals.  The docket order will be posted over Thanksgiving Break. The docket can NOT be re-ordered.   


All school must provide at least one judge OR pay $200.00 judging fee.


Presiding Officers - Election of the PO will be handled in each chamber. Students wishing to serve as PO must be nominated online from their coaches.  


Awards – any student who advances to the final round will receive a gavel. The top six will receive a gavel along with a Top Presiding Officer Award. We will also award the top two schools. Consolation Chambers will receive 1st – 6th plaques.


For more information 

Chris Mosmeyer at Holy Trinity Catholic HS

phone 254-771-0787 email --cmosmeyer@holytrinitychs.org  (PREFERRED)


Donna Szumila at THEO Christian




.Hope to see you in Austin


The Yellow Rose District Committee
Donna Szumila, chair



Copyright © 2002-2017 Brent Hinkle. All rights reserved.